Dumfriesshire Province Waterlow Curling Competition

The final of the 2023 Dumfriesshire province Waterlow curling trophy was played last Thursday night at Lockerbie ice rink. The historic trophy was first played for in 1869 by Dumfriesshire province clubs. In this years final Lochmaben Castle who last won the trophy in 2009 defeated Corrie curling club in the final. Lochmaben were always in control of both games and they won by 15 shots to four. The winning rinks were James Taylor (Skip), Hannah Henderson, Bryce Sloan & Lynne Longmore and Gareth Drummond (Skip), Billy Nairn, Irving Davidson & Margaret Wilson. The corries rinks were Dave Stewart (Skip), Dave Bell, Hamish Goldie & Gregor Bell and Stuart Hills, Russel Smith, Matty Reive & Yvie Stewart. The Dumfriesshire province re indebted to James Jones and Sons who provided the sponsorship for the competition. Picture are the winners (Left to Right) Billy Nairn, Hannah Henderson, Irving Davidson, James Taylor, Bryce Sloan, Gareth Drummond, Margaret Wilson & Lynne Longmore.